Faculty affiliated with the Comparative Literature Program come from the departments of Art, Black Studies, Classics, East Asian Studies, English, Feminist Studies, Film and Media Studies, French and Italian, Germanic and Slavic Studies, Global Studies, History of Art and Architecture, Religious Studies, Spanish and Portuguese, and Theater and Dance. They include Guggenheim Fellows, National Endowment for the Humanities Awardees, Ford Foundation Fellows, Humboldt Awardees, UC President’s Fellowship recipients, and UCSB Distinguished Teaching Award recipients.

As of fall 2019, the Chair of Comparative Literature is Professor Dominique Jullien.
Professor Eric Prieto is the Vice Chair and Director of Graduate Studies (starting on Jan.1, 2020).
Professor Nadège T. Clitandre is our Diversity Officer.
Professor Roberto Strongman is our Director of Undergraduate Studies.
Our Director of Placement is Professor Sara Weld.
Professor Dominique Jullien is the Acting Advisor for the Graduate Emphasis in Translation Studies (see Translation Studies).

In addition to its large network of affiliated faculty, Comparative Literature has an appointed Advisory Board and an Admission Committee that oversees departmental admissions, governance, and program development. Graduate committees support the governance, teaching, intellectual life, and outreach of the whole program.