Welcome to the Graduate Center for Literary Research

     The Graduate Center for Literary Research (GCLR) aims to enrich and enhance the experience of students and faculty involved in literary studies, by promoting interdisciplinary dialogue and encounters at various levels. The Center is directed by Dominique Jullien (Professor of French and Comparative Literature) with an advisory board consisting of both faculty members and graduate students from different humanities departments.

     Our activities currently include quarterly round tables, where students present their work in progress, and an annual interdisciplinary conference. The GCLR also co-sponsors a variety of literary lectures and conferences on the UCSB campus, and brings a distinguished visiting professor with broad interdisciplinary appeal, for an extended stay, to give a Graduate Literary Research lecture, teach a seminar and establish connections with our doctoral students.

     We award travel grants to students giving papers at literary conferences and recruitment fellowships for doctoral candidates pursuing interdisciplinary approaches to literature.


     In addition to the GCLR, the University of California, Santa Barbara offers a variety of resources that support diverse literary and interdisciplinary research interests. PhD students may opt to complete an emphasis in the following areas:

     Scholars engaged in literary and interdisciplinary research also participate in the following departments, programs, centers, and organizations:

The GCLR is sponsored by the Michael Douglas Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts, David Marshall and administered by the Interdisciplinary Humanities Center.

Contact Us

Faculty Director
Dominique Jullien

Campus Maps


Search form


The next GCLR Roundtable will be held on Friday, February 23rd at 5PM in Phelps 6206C

Letter from the chair of GCLR concerning applications to the Harvard IWL Summer Program 

The GCLR is pleased to announce that Marina Warner's guest lecture has officially been scheduled for 1 May 2018.